NFIB/Florida reminds business owners that effective Thursday, January 1, 2009, Florida's minimum wage will rise to $7.21 - a 42 cent increase over last year's wage.
The state of Florida is one of 30 states that have opted to set their own minimum wage, which is recalculated yearly based upon changes in the consumer price index. Employees in states that have a higher minimum wage than the federal level are entitled to that higher wage.
Employers are required to have visible a poster stating the state minimum wage; additionally, any business covered by the Family and Medical Leave Act are also required to post a sign from the U.S. Department of Labor stating the Federal Minimum Wage. This poster can be downloaded at www.NFIB.com/FL.